The Secret Society of Lathe Trolls Forum Index The Secret Society of Lathe Trolls
A forum devoted to record-cutting deviants, renegades & experimenters
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kingston Dubcutter on eBay - Fake listing - CHECK IT OUT???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Secret Society of Lathe Trolls Forum Index -> Classifieds & tip-offs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Noise Factory



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 6:01 am    Post subject: Kingston Dubcutter on eBay - Fake listing - CHECK IT OUT??? Reply with quote

Hi everyone

I saw a listing on eBay for a Kingston Dubcutter for sale. It looked very similar to a previous listing back in march. I found the "old" item on a link on an other site.

This is the link to the old listing:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kingston-Dub-Cutter-Vinyl-Recorder-Record-Cutter_W0QQitemZ5877023939

This is the new listing:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Kingston-Dub-Cutter-Vinyl-Recorder-Record-Cutter_W0QQitemZ110000879388QQihZ001QQcategoryZ3278QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Its the same background story, the same item, the same info etc.
I have tried to get in contact with the seller to hand me info on this item, no reply. Theres no feedback, the seller joined eBay very recently!

Could anybody try and contact the seller to get some info and post it here!
I believe its a fake listing, but if not I am of course interested.

Best
Mikael
_________________
Back to basics - things arent what they used to be...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drdub



Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Location: AUSTRIA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2006 7:19 am    Post subject: be aware Reply with quote

ATTENTION:

do not buy this unit, it's probably fake, since the item listed first has been sold already !!
_________________
satan spins vinyl

*** www.drdub.com ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KRFK5



Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw this listing on ebay and was wondering if it is legit, or related to the potential fake postings listed above (the links above have expired). Looks like a new seller. Thanks for any help!


http://cgi.ebay.com/Kingston-Dub-Cutter-Vinyl-Recorder-Record-Cutter_W0QQitemZ170055829439QQihZ007QQcategoryZ48649QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


Last edited by KRFK5 on Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jesus H Chrysler



Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 38
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it looks to good to be true, then it's probably not
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Noise Factory



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Location: Copenhagen

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DO NOT buy! Its the same photos. Also there is no feedback for this seller. Fake listing!
_________________
Back to basics - things arent what they used to be...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
KRFK5



Joined: 01 Dec 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2006 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the input - I kind of had a suspicion that it was. Has this been an ongoing fake listing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thee bugged one



Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Louisville

PostPosted: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This auction is up again under yet another sellers name with 0 feedback. I would realy be interested in that cutter if he was legit, so I asked him for some additional photos. He sent me cropped photos of that same photograph, and told me in broken english, that he would end the auction early and sell it to me for 2000. I don't know what we could do to stop this guy, beyond just monitoring the auction, and if someone is niave enough to make a bid notify them immediately. I have been ripped off on ebay before, as have many others. He now accepts paypal and says that 10% will go to a charitable cause, I guess as a ploy to win trust. I don't know how he plans on screwing paypal unless he has fake aliases, which I realy wouldn't be surprised.

But yeah, based on those pictures, I'd have to say this guy is deffinently a crook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
thee bugged one



Joined: 22 Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Louisville

PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2006 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well someone is currently bidding on it.

I went back and checked the email he sent me, and his english wasn't as bad as I thought it was, but he did say he would be shipping it from his studio in Tampa, Florida...and the auction says he's in Memphis, MO.

Here's the new auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Kingston-Dub-Cutter-Vinyl-Recorder-Record-Cutter_W0QQitemZ140067073082QQihZ004QQcategoryZ48649QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drdub



Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Location: AUSTRIA

PostPosted: Sun Dec 24, 2006 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AGAIN:

do not buy this unit, it's probably fake, since the item listed first has been sold already !!

this also holds true for the neumann vms which is for sale out of namibia...

cheers mex
_________________
satan spins vinyl

*** www.drdub.com ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sprout23



Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Location: wisco

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed this listing is back up again, same exact picture, but I noticed the person is located at a different place. Seems a little strange
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sprout23



Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Location: wisco

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=009&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&viewitem=&item=190094199073&rd=1&rd=1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drdub



Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 48
Location: AUSTRIA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:03 am    Post subject: again Reply with quote

FAKE !!
_________________
satan spins vinyl

*** www.drdub.com ***
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Secret Society of Lathe Trolls Forum Index -> Classifieds & tip-offs All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group. Hosted by phpBB.BizHat.com

Free Web Hosting | Free Forum Hosting | Photo Gallery | FreeMarriage.com

Powered by PhpBB.BizHat.com, setup your forum now!
For Support, visit Forums.BizHat.com